There are K-Pop fans across the globe who share the same passion. But on online platforms, it is hard to know about each other’ stories and K-Pop life. Even if we are in the same fandom, it is hard to get to know each other. So at Kpopmap, we started the Kpopmap Fan Interview Project to get to know more about K-Pop fans from different countries: more about their K-Pop life and tastes and to give them the opportunity to share with our readers about their favorite group(s) and bias.   Nimra from Pakistan is the next fan to answer our questions. She is a fan of Highlight and more particularly of Yang YoSeop. Check out how she entered the fandom, the songs and content she advises to new fans, and much more!   Can you introduce yourself? Where are you from? Hi, my name is Nimra and I am from Pakistan.   How and when did you enter the fandom? I entered the fandom in 2011, it was the first time I had listened to ‘Fiction’ by BEAST (now Highlight) and the song got stuck to me, it had a good tempo, the perfect blend of a sad and hip song, so I had to find out where it was from and who sang it, and that’s how I fell down the rabbit hole and haven’t been able to get out ever since.   What are the reasons why you love your favorite group? There are many reasons as to why I love them, but the main reason is because of their persistence and dedication to who they are and what they do, it is not easy to start afresh and anew with a completely different name and a completely different company, which is also made by you. But Highlight did that! They survived throughout all these years and according to me they are the most dedicated 2nd gen group to have come this far, even after losing some members and their brand name which had got them popularity in the start.   Who caught your attention at first and why? The first one to catch my attention was Yang YoSeop, it was because he was soo cute when I first saw him and also because of his voice. At that time, it had made me wonder how such a strong voice could come out from such a small boy!   Who is your bias, and why? To be honest, it is not easy to have a bias in Highlight because they are all so sweet caring and talented, but if I have to admit then I guess I may have a soft spot for YoSeop xD. And its because of the kind of a person is he. Always showing 100% dedication to his work and his fans. He communicates with fans through a lot of platforms, be it IG live or even liking fan posts, leaving some comments, and viewing their stories, to some it might not mean a lot but to fans of that particular person that would be their happiest day! Even after being known as one of the top vocalists in K-Pop he still takes vocal lessons, after 14 years of being in the industry, and him being extra cute and handsome makes it a plus!!!   Can you recommend a title track and a B-side track for new fans? I think new fans would love their first debut title track as Highlight, ‘Plz Don’t Be Sad’. And one of my favorites B-side tracks which I want to recommend is ‘Night Fog’ its from their recent first full length album “DAYDREAM”.     Can you recommend a fancam, V Live, cover video, cover dance, or individual content video of your bias to our readers? If you want to know YoSeop more, you can go and watch all his performances as ‘Fireplace Cat’ at “King of Masked Singers”. He is the only Idol to have 8 consecutive wins on that show and he also had the second most wins by any singer on that platform!   Can you also do the same type of recommendation for the group? For group recommendations I would like to recommend you some of their variety show content like “reveral of HIGHLIGHT” and there are many more if you want to watch. It would help new fans have a look into their group dynamics and their characters! Also I love this performance for K-CON, so I wanted to share!   Can you share with us one of your favorite lyrics? My favorite lyrics these days are from the title track of their last album which they released after their military service, that are “I’m still here, its not the end”. To fans these lyrics, mean a lot!   Are there any words from the members you would like to share? YoSeop once shared these words with a hand written letter and I still get comfort from them. “It’s okay to be tired, it’s okay if you’re going through difficult times. You my fall and you may take a rest when you fall. Move forward slowly. Slowly and surely, not to hurt our own hearts….to not close our heart even when it’s hurt!”   What is your favorite group/bias’ influence on your daily life? Their constant presence makes me happy. A comforting word from them and seeing their content puts a smile on may face. Like the sun shining in my darkest days, they help me go through life.   What is your favorite side of fangirling/fanboying? My favorite side of fangirling is that it takes me away from troubles of life for some time. Much like having a small respite during a tough day at work.   What type of concept do you prefer: cute, dark, sexy, etc? I like dark and sexy concepts!   What is your best souvenir with your favorite group until now? YoSeop liked my story one time and DongWon answered my questions on Twitter quite a few times which made me really happy!   For me, my bias is … YoSeop for me is, my role model and the person I love and respect!!   Can you recommend a cute or funny video (30s)/gif of your bias to our readers? The recent gif of YoSeop that I’ve been in love with is:

  If you could spend the day with them, what would you want to do together? If i could spend a day with YoSeop I would want to listen to him sing live, take a walk and just talk, because he’s the best listener you could ever get!!   Name 1 quality in your bias that you wish you had. Dedication to your work!   Is there some food you saw your bias group eat that made you crave it too? I think whenever I see them eat anything I always crave it because they eat everything so deliciously 😭 And DuJun is also known as the mukbang idol, so he makes everything look delicious!   if your bias were to collab with another idol, who do you think would be best? I really want to see YoSeop collab with IU and WonHo as I really love those 2 and I think their voices would match really good!   What is the biggest mystery about your favourite idol? The biggest mystery about YoSeop up till now is that: how does he have such a small face 😂.   Do you feel there are any misunderstandings, things that are not well known, or any prejudices about your favorite group from other fans (non-fans)? I think there are many new fans that call Highlight as an unknown group and even call them as old men, which is quite rude. But I want to clarify that Highlight is not unknown, I admit that they’re somewhat old as they have been in the industry for almost 14 years, but they’re respectable seniors that almost all of junior 3rd and 4th gen groups look upto, so I wanted to clear this misconception about them!   Nimra’s message to Highlight: I wanted to say that thank you for being there for all the fans, and thank you for communicating with us, for giving us reasons to smile and to be happy 💙💛💚💜 Thank you for being so caring and listening to all our worries like a close friend. The time with all of you is amazing and I won’t ever trade it for anything else! Loving all of you has always been easy and its going to remain the same❤️. I will always support you no matter what, so I hope that Highlight also lives their lives full of happiness and good health. Thank you for working so hard, you deserve all the good things!

Thank you for answering our questions, Nimra.   If you are interested in joining Kpopmap Fan Interview Project, please get in touch with us at [email protected] Everyone is welcome to participate.  

Kpopmap Fan Interview: An Indonesian Goldenness Talks About Her Favorite Group Golden Child & Her Bias BoMin by FANS|Apr 27, 2022 Kpopmap Fan Interview: A Filipino iE Talks About Her Favorite Group TEMPEST & Her Bias HanBin by FANS|Apr 26, 2022 Kpopmap Fan Interview: A Filipino AROHA Talks About Her Favorite Group ASTRO & Her Bias MoonBin by FANS|Apr 25, 2022 Kpopmap Fan Interview: An Indonesian ALICE Talks About His Favorite Group VICTON & His Biases 2CHAN, ByungChan & Chan by FANS|Apr 24, 2022 Kpopmap Fan Interview: A Pakistani WENEE Talks About Her Favorite Artist WonHo & The Reasons Why He Gives Her Hope by FANS|Apr 23, 2022

Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 95Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 41Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 42Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 33Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 74Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 98Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 25Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 89Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 32Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 41Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 4Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 68Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 63Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 91Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 53Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 59Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Pakistani BEAUTY Light Talks About Her Favorite Artist Highlight   Her Bias Yang YoSeop - 96